Giving an old lamp a new life

Just popping in with a quick post on a little DIY project I did over the weekend.  I was wanting a fun lamp for my craft room, and when I saw this brass lamp base at Goodwill for $7, I liked the shape and knew that I could dress it up with a little paint:

After some spray paint (Lagoon by Rustoleum) – it looks like this!

It took one coat of spray primer and about 5 thin and even coats of the Lagoon color to get good coverage.  I waited about 1/2 hour in between coats.  I love the way it looks and it really highlights to cool shape of the lamp base.  I bought a fun lamp shade from Target and now my new lamp is living happily on my craft desk, waiting for the rest of the room to get done!

Anyone else turn trash into treasure lately?

Leave a Reply

